How would you like to take off from the tallest waterfall?

Angel Falls, Venezuela
Copyright Wikimedia

You think I’m crazy…but this guy did it! Who? Paul Guschlbauer (a real extreme sportster). He impressed RedBull and of course…thousands of fans worldwide.

They say Paragliding is crazy fun…but I didn’t know it was this fun?!” (check out the video…its really cool)

It happened very swiftly, at Angel Falls. I wished I weren’t that busy and had the time to get out there and get into some  action myself. But I’ll tell you, paragliding ain’t for the faint-hearted. Agree or not?

Have you glided before? Please share with us your experience if you have, or haven’t.

Paul Guschlbauer gear
Copyright Redbull

Funniest thing yet…I didn’t even know Angel Falls is ‘the’ world’s largest uninterrupted waterfall. Did you? Seriously!

So, let’s see it from Paul’s perspective, what’s it like, falling from such a height. A little hard to describe in words would’nt you say so?

Imagine, you being up there, with the gush of wind hitting your face, and the cool air freezing your fingers. They say this is what superman feels when he is up in the air…hahaha. I wonder, what would it be really like, with all the mental psyche he needed to prepare, and then, free falling 1,000 metres into the Venezuelan treetops from atop a massive plateau right in the middle of the jungle?

Paul went on saying…

“I also learnt, its history (and name) are closely tied to the skies above it – it was revealed to the outside world in 1932 when aviator Jimmy Angel flew over it in his plane, and made iconic as the inspiration for Paradise Falls in the Disney Movie ‘UP’.”

Paul Guschlbauer paragliding over Angel FallsPlay The Video

Leave a comment